HUD Archives: News Releases

Bob Young
(404) 331-5001 ext. 2008
For Release
April 20, 2007

Walker County, Georgia becomes one of 473 designated communities

CHICKAMAUGA, GA - At an event held today, John L. Nau, III, Chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, along with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Regional Director Bob Young
awarded Walker County, Georgia the designation of a Preserve America Community. Joining them was Walker County Commissioner Bebe Heiskell, Senator Johnny Isakson's office, County Attorney Don Oliver, the Walker County
Chamber of Commerce, The Coosa Valley Regional Development Center, the City of Chickamauga, the City of La Fayette, the Walker County Historic Preservation Commission, the Walker County Historical Society, the Daughters
of the American Revolution, the Sons of the Confederacy, the Marsh House Community Task Force, and other local leaders.

In an effort to promote the Preserve America initiative and preserve historic communities, HUD has partnered with
the Advisory Council, other federal agencies, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the President's Council on Environmental Quality, and the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities. First Lady Laura Bush is the honorary chair of Preserve America. To date, 473 communities have been designated as Preserve America communities.

"Preserve America Communities, neighborhoods, and grant recipients know the importance of historic preservation
to the economic, educational, esthetic, and cultural life of America, as well as to their residents, their visitors, and especially to their children," said John Nau, Chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation. "The citizens
of Walker County, Georgia do a great job of preserving and promoting their heritage."

Walker County has supported the preservation of its historic environment by encouraging and supporting grant applications for preservation funds, programs, and activities, as well as investing Special Local Option Sales Tax dollars into preservation efforts. The Walker County Historic Preservation Commission was formed by Commissioner Heiskell, and has the Certified Local Government distinction. There are two Historic Districts in the county -
McLemore Cove Historic District, and the City of Chickamauga Historic District, which is on the Georgia listing,
awaiting the National designation. The City of La Fayette has worked tirelessly and been awarded the Main Street designation. Walker County bought the historic 1836 Marsh-Warthen-Clements House, which the Marsh House Community Task Force oversees with the Walker County Historical Society and the Walker County Preservation Commission. The County has instituted the Historic Overlay District, which guides development around the Chickamauga-Chattanooga Military Park to enhance and protect the historic character of that area. Civic organizations and cities within the County hold annual festivals that celebrate traditions, inheritance, and culture
and boost the local economy.

Preserve America is a White House initiative that encourages and supports community efforts to preserve and enjoy our priceless cultural and natural heritage. The goals of the initiative include a greater shared knowledge about the nation's past, strengthened regional identities and local pride, increased local participation in preserving the
country's cultural and natural heritage assets, and support for the economic vitality of our communities.

"In addition to governments, the private sector - businesses, philanthropic groups, historical organizations, educational institutions, and private citizens - also have a crucial role to play. Public-private partnerships are
already supporting excellent preservation work throughout our country, and they'll be vital to preserving our
national treasures in the years ahead," said Mrs. Bush.

For further information on the Preserve America initiative go to:

For local information contact: Bobbie Perra, Walker County Resource Coordinator at (706) 638-1437.
For further information contact: Linda Allen, HUD Public Affairs Coordinator at (404) 331 5001 ext. 2012.


Content Archived: March 15, 2011