Home | En Español | Contact Us | A to Z 

Adolfo Carri�n, NY and CT Mayors, County Execs, Planning Groups Launch Unprecedented Bi-State Sustainability Collaboration

Regional Administrator Adolfo Carrión, surrounded by elected officials, government agency directors and representatives from planning organizations, talks about the importance of the HUD Planning Grant to the future growth of New York and Connecticut

Regional Administrator Adolfo Carrión recently presided over the kickoff event for the New York-Connecticut Sustainable Communities initiative, an unprecedented bi-state collaboration that is the recipient of a $3.5 million HUD Sustainable Communities Initiative Grant. He was joined by representatives from five New York and four Connecticut cities, the Nassau County and Suffolk County Executives, the New York City Planning Commissioner, and the heads of six regional planning organizations, who collectively comprise the consortium.

By developing livable communities and growth centers around the region's transit network, the New York-Connecticut Sustainable Communities initiative seeks to expand economic opportunity by creating and connecting residents to jobs; fostering new affordable, energy-efficient housing; providing more transportation choices; strengthening existing communities and making the region more globally competitive. The grant will be administered by Regional Plan Association, a nonprofit regional planning organization.

Some of the dignitaries joining Carrión at the kick-off event were Nassau County Executive Ed Mangano; NYC City Planning Commissioner Amanda Burden; NYS DOT Commissioner Joan McDonald; Bridgeport Mayor Bill Finch; White Plains Mayor Thomas Roach; New Rochelle Mayor Noam Bramson; Norwalk Mayor Richard Moccia;

Regional Administrator Adolfo Carrión presents a ceremonial check in the amount of $3.5 million to the New York-Connecticut Sustainable Communities Consortium

representatives from Suffolk County, New Haven, Stamford, Yonkers and Mount Vernon; and, principal representatives from major planning organizations.

Some of the activities that will be undertaken include large-scale transit-oriented development and neighborhood sustainability projects at key nodes in the MTA Metro-North Railroad and MTA Long Island Rail Road commuter rail systems, strategies to advance climate resilience, open space protection and access to affordable housing, and enhancements to existing regional sustainability plans.

Consortium members include the cities of New York, New Haven, Bridgeport, Norwalk, Stamford, Yonkers, White Plains, New Rochelle and Mount Vernon; Nassau and Suffolk counties; the New York Metropolitan Transportation Council (NYMTC), South Western Regional Metropolitan Planning Organization (SWRMPO), Greater Bridgeport/Valley Metropolitan Planning, Organization (GBVMPO), South Central Regional Council of Governments (SCRCOG); and the Long Island Regional Planning Council (LIRPC) and Regional Plan Association (RPA).


Content Archived: December 3, 2013

FOIA Privacy Web Policies and Important Links [logo: Fair Housing and Equal 

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
451 7th Street S.W.
Washington, DC 20410
Telephone: (202) 708-1112 TTY: (202) 708-1455