Home | En Español | Contact Us | A to Z 

HUD Archives: News Releases

HUD No. 97-103
Further Information:For Release
In the Washington, DC area: 202/708-1420Sunday
Or contact your local HUD officeJune 22, 1997


SAN FRANCISCO -- Housing and Urban Development Secretary Andrew Cuomo today presented 238 communities with awards for outstanding management of housing and community development programs funded by HUD.

Cuomo announced the winners of HUD's new John J. Gunther Blue Ribbon Practices Award at the U.S. Conference of Mayors meeting in San Francisco.

The awards recognize the top performing cities, towns, counties, states and territories among the 1,000 communities around the nation that receive about $7 billion in block grants and competitive awards from HUD's Division of Community Planning and Development (CPD) each year for housing and community development projects.

The new HUD award is designed to highlight the best managed housing and community development programs so they can be used as models to improve programs around the nation.

"President Clinton and Vice President Gore have set a high performance standard for federal programs to make sure taxpayer dollars are invested wisely," Cuomo said. "HUD is improving its management practices to meet this high standard by eliminating waste, fraud and abuse in all our programs. We need more than programs with good intentions. We need programs with outstanding results."

The programs use CPD funding for a wide range of housing and community development activities, including: economic development and job creation, community revitalization, consolidated planning, creation of affordable housing, increasing homeownership, homeless programs, and improved grants management.

"It's always important to point out what government is doing wrong, but it's also important to point out what government is doing right," Cuomo said. "By spotlighting programs that work, we help them spread across the country."

The winners of the awards were chosen by HUD field offices around the country after a careful evaluation, Cuomo said.

HUD will ask officials from the award-winning communities to work closely with other localities to help them improve their housing and community development programs, Cuomo said.

In addition, descriptions of the 386 programs in the 238 communities receiving awards will be posted on HUD's WEB site -- www.hud.gov -- to enable communities around the nation to learn from them.

The award-winning programs will also be the focus of a HUD- sponsored conference July 8-10 in Houston on best practices.

Award winners get a certificate from HUD and recognition by communities around the nation for their excellence and creativity. The idea for the awards was developed by Cuomo when he was a HUD Assistant Secretary.

The awards are named for John J. Gunther, who was Executive Director of the U.S. Conference of Mayors from 1961-1987. He died April 14.

"John Gunther was instrumental in shaping many of the housing and community development programs now used by thousands of communities across the country," Cuomo said. "These awards a tribute to a great man who inspired us by his example."

Gunther was an early supporter of a Cabinet level department that would work for America's cities. He worked with Presidents Kennedy and Johnson and many other officials to help establish the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

John J. Gunther

Blue Ribbon Practices

Award Winners



Alabama:Bessemer, Dothan, Mobile, Jefferson County
Alaska:Anchorage, State of Alaska
Arizona:Phoenix, Tucson - Pima County
Arkansas:Little Rock, North Little Rock, West Memphis
California:Carlsbad, Chico, Encinitas, Escondido, Fontana, Fresno, Glendale, Huntington Park, Montebello, Oxnard, Pasadena, Pittsburg, Pleasanton, Pomona, Rancho Cucamonga, Richmond, Riverside, San Francisco - City and County, San Jose, Santa Maria, Stockton, Thousand Oaks, Tulare, Alameda County, San Luis Obispo County
Connecticut:Hartford, MiddletownDelaware:New Castle County
Florida:Boca Raton, Cape Coral, Daytona Beach, Delray Beach, Jacksonville, Orlando - Orange County, Tampa, Hillsborough County, Pinellas County
Georgia:Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon, Savannah, Athens-Clarke County, Cobb County, Dekalb County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County, State of Georgia
Hawaii:Honolulu - City and County, Maui County, State of Hawaii
Idaho:BoiseIllinois:Champaign, Chicago, Rockford
Indiana:East Chicago, Elkhart, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Muncie, New Albany, West Lafayette, State of Indiana
Iowa:Iowa City, Sioux City, State of Iowa
Kansas:Lawrence, Leavenworth, Topeka, Wichita
Kentucky:Louisville, Louisville - Jefferson County, Jefferson County, Owensboro, State of Kentucky
Louisiana:Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Bossier City, Kenner, Lafayette, Monroe, New Orleans, Shreveport
Maine:Bangor, Portland
Maryland:Baltimore, Cumberland, Frederick, Baltimore County, State of Maryland
Massachusetts:Boston, Cambridge, Chicopee, Fall River, Haverhill, Holyoke, Lawrence, Lowell, Lynn, Quincy, Worcester
Michigan:Ann Arbor, Detroit, Grand Rapids - Kent County, Lansing, Portage, Waterford Township, Kent County, Oakland County
Minnesota:Duluth, Minneapolis - Hennepin County, St. Louis County
Mississippi:Biloxi, Hattiesburg, Jackson, State of Mississippi
Missouri:Columbia, Florissant, Joplin, Joplin/Springfield, Springfield, St. Louis, St. Louis County, State of Missouri
Nebraska:Lincoln, Omaha, State of Nebraska
New Hampshire:Portsmouth
New Jersey:Bridgeton, Elizabeth, Jersey City, New Brunswick, Trenton, Bergen County, Burlington County, Essex County, Morris County, Ocean County
New Mexico:Albuquerque, Santa Fe
New York:Albany, Babylon, Cheektowaga, Colonie, Hamburg, Islip, New York City, Rochester, Tonawanda, White Plains, Dutchess County, Nassau County, Suffolk County, State of New York
North Carolina:Asheville, Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill - Orange County, Charlotte, Concord, Durham, Gastonia, Goldsboro, Greensboro, Greensboro Consortiuum, Hickory, High Point, Raleigh, Raleigh - Wake County, Wilmington, Winston-Salem, Wake County
Ohio:Franklin CountyOklahoma:Norman, Oklahoma City, Shawnee, Tulsa
Oregon:Eugene Consortium
Pennsylvania:Pittsburgh - Allegheny County, Scranton, Bucks County, Chester County, Lancaster County, State of Pennsylvania
Rhode Island:Providence, Providence - State of Rhode Island
South Carolina:Charleston, Columbia, Florence, Greenville, Myrtle Beach, Rock Hill, Greenville CountyTennessee:Bristol, Chattanooga, Memphis, Nashville
Texas:Amarillo, Arlington, Beaumont, Bryan, College Station, El Paso, Harris County, Laredo, Lubbock, Tyler, Waco
Vermont:BurlingtonVirginia:Norfolk, Richmond, Arlington County
Washington:Seattle - King County
West Virginia:Charleston, Huntington
Wisconsin:Green Bay, Milwaukee, Racine, Waukesha County
American Samoa:Territory of American Samoa
Puerto Rico:Bayamon, Ponce, San Juan, Commonwealth of Puerto Rico


Content Archived: January 20, 2009

FOIA Privacy Web Policies and Important Links [logo: Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity]
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
451 7th Street S.W.
Washington, DC 20410
Telephone: (202) 708-1112 TTY: (202) 708-1455