HUD Archives: News Releases

HUD No. 11-170
Lemar C. Wooley
(202) 708-0685
For Release
August 19, 2011

Loan limits for most areas of the country will remain unchanged

WASHINGTON - On October 1, 2011, the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) will implement new single-family loan limits as specified by the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA). As a result, FHA will reduce loan limits in the highest cost metropolitan areas of the country while limits would remain unchanged in most other parts of the nation. Read FHA's mortgagee letter detailing the agency's new loan limits.

These new loan limits were scheduled to take effect in January of 2009 but continuing strains in credit markets led the Congress to delay implementation. The result has been nearly three years of higher loan limits for some areas based on the Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 (ESA).

Forward Mortgages

Barring any new action by the Congress, many affected areas will have lower FHA loan limits on October 1, 2011. The current standard (floor) loan limit for areas where housing costs are relatively low will remain unchanged at $271,050 for one-unit properties. The new "ceiling" loan limit for higher cost areas will be reduced from $729,750 to $625,500 for one-unit properties. FHA loan limits vary based on area median home price, but all will fall within the range of $271,050 and $625,500 for one unit properties. Additional information and loan limits for two-, three-, and four-unit properties are noted in FHA's mortgagee letter. As in previous years, Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and the Virgin Islands may have higher loan limits.

FHA estimates that only a fraction of borrowers living in the nation's highest cost areas will be impacted by the new loan limits announced today. For example, last year only three percent of FHA-insured borrowers lived in these high-cost areas.

The change in FHA loan limits will affect 669 counties across the country, out of a total of 3,234 jurisdictions in which FHA insures home loans. Most loan applications with an FHA case number assigned on or after October 1, 2011, will be subject to the new limits. However, there are some exceptions for FHA-insured to FHA-insured refinances that are noted in HUD's Mortgagee Letter. In addition, there are exceptions for loans that were issued case numbers on or before 9/30/11 and meet all of the credit approval criteria detailed in Mortgagee Letter 2011 -29.

Home Equity Conversion Mortgages

The mortgage loan limit and maximum claim amount for FHA-insured reverse mortgages will remain unchanged. The FHA product known as the Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) will continue to have a maximum claim amount of $625,500.

Reverse mortgages allow homeowners age 62 and older to borrow against the value of their homes without selling them. Homeowners can select a lump-sum payment, monthly payments or tap into a line of credit. No repayment is required as long as a homeowner lives in a home with a reverse mortgage. The reverse mortgage is repaid, with interest, when a homeowner sells the home or dies.

Read FHA's Frequently Asked Questions on the new loan limits announced today on HUD's website.


HUD's mission is to create strong, sustainable, inclusive communities and quality affordable homes for all. HUD is working to strengthen the housing market to bolster the economy and protect consumers; meet the need for quality affordable rental homes: utilize housing as a platform for improving quality of life; build inclusive and sustainable communities free from discrimination; and transform the way HUD does business. More information about HUD and its programs is available on the Internet at and You can also follow HUD on twitter @HUDgov or on facebook at


Content Archived: July 24, 2017