Small Office Project - Region 6

[Photo: HUD Transformation to the 21st Century]

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Acting Regional Administrator, announced the agency's offices in Dallas and Lubbock will close as part of a cost-cutting move that will save HUD anywhere from $110 to $150 million in lease and operating cost over a 10 year period. Nationwide, HUD plans to close 16 of its 80 field offices, affecting approximately 122 employees. It is anticipated the offices will be closed by fiscal year 2014.

"The closure plan provides for optimal use of HUD's human capital, better results for HUD customers, and greater efficiencies for American taxpayers," said Brezina. "Like families and businesses across the country, we cannot continue to operate like we did several decades ago. America has changed, communities have changed and we must change."

"We looked at where our people are and where we need to be in order to make certain we can achieve the greatest possible impact on the people and places we serve," said Pat Hoban-Moore, HUD's Assistant Deputy Secretary for Field Policy and Management. "We will implement this realignment without disrupting the program delivery networks currently serving communities throughout the nation."

"While these restructuring actions are personally difficult because of the impact on a very limited number of employees, they are necessary to improve execution and to the long term health of the Department," explained Brezina. "We are realigning HUD to deliver the best value to customers and taxpayers."

HUD staff in Fort Worth will work with HUD clients serviced by the two closing offices to ensure uninterrupted, quality service going forward.

HUD will retain a large, full service, fully-staffed offices in Houston and San Antonio, as well as the regional office in Fort Worth, Texas.


Related Information

Office Closures by Region

  • Region II: Camden, New Jersey and Syracuse, New York
  • Region IV: Orlando, Florida and Tampa, Florida
  • Region V: Springfield, Illinois; Cincinnati, Ohio; Flint, Michigan and Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Region VI: Shreveport, Louisiana; Dallas, Texas and Lubbock, Texas
  • Region IX: Tucson, Arizona; Fresno, California; Sacramento, California and San Diego, California.
  • Region X: Spokane, Washington


Content Archived: January 19, 2017