HUD Archives: News Releases

Bonnie Byrom Dixon
(404) 331-5001 ext. 2013
For Release
May 17, 2006


ATLANTA - The U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development announced today that an increase in the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) loan limits for Fulton County, which includes the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Marietta Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), has been Increased. This includes the counties of Barrow, Bartow, Butts,
Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Haralson, Heard, Jasper, Lamar, Meriweather, Newton, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Rockdale, Spalding, and Walton. This
is an increase of $24,985 (11%) from the previous limit for one-unit homes.

"President Bush understands that when we open the doors of the American Dream to more families, we all win,"
said HUD Atlanta Regional Office, Region IV Regional Director, Bob Young. "Homeownership is at an all-time high nationally. Ownership inspires civic responsibility, offers children a stable living environment and generates economic benefits for families and communities."

Unit Size
Previous Limit
New Limit
1 - Family
2 - Family
3 - Family
4 - Family

The $24,895 (11%) increase in FHA limits for single family mortgages will make it easier for more families in Atlanta, Georgia MSA to realize the dream of homeownership using HUD's FHA Programs.

The loan limit increase was considered using data obtained from the efforts of a local lender and appraiser with property sale information from a private data service. The increase was based on a total of 642 closings in Fulton County for the month of December 2005, which had a median sales price of $266,200.

HUD is the nation's housing agency committed to increasing homeownership, particularly among minorities, creating affordable housing opportunities for low-income Americans, supporting the homeless, elderly, people with disabilities and people living with AIDS. The Department also promotes economic and community development as well as
enforces the nation's fair housing laws.


Content Archived: March 15, 2011