Small Office Project - Region 10

[Photo: HUD Transformation to the 21st Century]

Seattle- Mary McBride, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Regional Administrator, announced the agency's small office in Spokane, Washington will close as part of a realignment of staff resources to better support program delivery. Nationwide, HUD plans to close 16 of its 80 field offices, affecting approximately 120 employees. It is anticipated the office will be closed by early fiscal year 2014. The moves will result in meaningful savings in administrative costs, anywhere from $110 to $150 million over a 10 year period.

"The closure plan provides for optimal use of HUD's human capital, better results for HUD customers, and greater efficiencies for American taxpayers," said McBride. "Like families and businesses across the country, we cannot continue to operate like we did several decades ago. America has changed, communities have changed and we must change."

"We looked at where our staff needs to be in order to make certain we can achieve the greatest possible impact on the people and places we serve," said Pat Hoban-Moore, HUD's Assistant Deputy Secretary for Field Policy and Management. "We will implement this realignment without disrupting the program delivery networks currently serving communities throughout the nation."

"While these restructuring actions are personally difficult because of the impact on a very limited number of employees, they are necessary to improve execution and to the long term health of the Department," explained McBride. "We are realigning HUD to deliver the best value to customers and taxpayers."

HUD will retain the regional office in Seattle, whose staff will work with HUD clients serviced by the closing office to ensure uninterrupted, quality service going forward.

A Message from the Regional Administrator

Mary McBride, Regional Administrator of Region 10



Related Information

Office Closures by Region

  • Region II: Camden, New Jersey and Syracuse, New York
  • Region IV: Orlando, Florida and Tampa, Florida
  • Region V: Springfield, Illinois; Cincinnati, Ohio; Flint, Michigan and Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Region VI: Shreveport, Louisiana; Dallas, Texas and Lubbock, Texas
  • Region IX: Tucson, Arizona; Fresno, California; Sacramento, California and San Diego, California.
  • Region X: Spokane, Washington


Content Archived: January 19, 2017